Home

Yesterday, God gave me a picture of a friend completely bent double and staggering under plank, after plank, of wood.  God showed me 3 things about the picture:

Photo of logs of wood symbolising the burden we carry that we could give to Jesus and share with others

What are you carrying?

Firstly, sometimes as people it is tempting to take on the responsibility or burden for something that is either a) God’s to carry not ours or b) too big or heavy for us to carry alone.  This is “false responsibility” and we need to lay it down and ask God and others He has placed around us for help.

Secondly, we can build something together, like Nehemiah and the people rebuilding the walls of Jerusalem, while still a) sharing the load and b) taking personal responsibility for our part of the job.

Thirdly, Jesus comes to lift the burden off us and give us rest, He then gives us things to carry that we are able to bear and better still, comes and carries them with us.

“Come unto me all you who are weary and who carry heavy burdens and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you.  Let me teach you because I am humble and gentle at heart and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and the burden I give you is light.”

When I wrote out this verse, I also noticed for what seemed the first time, that Jesus wants to teach us so we can “find rest” for our souls.  I know I need to ask Him to teach me that, how about you?

References

  • Galatians 6:22 Bear one another’s burdens
  • Nehemiah 4:17 Each carried own load
  • Matthew 11:28-30 My yoke is easy and my burden is light
  • 1 Kings 19:18 Elijah thought he was alone but God had reserved 7000 others

© Michelle Sherlock 2014

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

