Home
Glass poem by Michelle Sherlock Photo of a face using mirrored broken glass

Glass poem by Michelle Sherlock

Glass

Shattered like glass

Not safety glass

With rounded edges

Instead jagged edges

With points sticking out

Make me shout

Points stick in

Like poison sinking in

Battered by thoughts

Not sweet thoughts

Of sunshine and joy

But poisonous ones that cloy

And spread and curl

And make me want to hurl

I’m broken and empty

Like Humpty Dumpty

All the king’s horses

And all the king’s men

May never put me together again

 

Glass poem by Michelle Sherlock, taken from my “Is it just me?” Poetry Collection

Posted as part one of a multi-part Writing 101 Challenge on the subject of dealing with loss. Writing poetry is cathartic and helps me make sense of the world.  By expressing some of the worst of what I feel / have felt , it can be a way of draining the poison and learning how to live again.

“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.”  Psalm 34:18

 

God comforts us in times of loss and binds up our wounds Photo of red cross ambulance

God comforts us in times of loss and binds up our wounds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 © Michelle Sherlock © Looking4Godtoday.wordpress.com 2014 All rights reserved

8 thoughts on “Glass (poem): Dealing with loss

  1. That is a powerful poem Michelle, and I feel proud that you led me to it.
    This doesn’t show you in a bad light. It shows that you are human; that you love, and love is noble.
    I write the way I do because i want to put out particular messages, and i intend to find the right vesel for those messages when I have the courage.
    Whatever painful subject you write about, you are reaching out and helping others to realise that they are normal, and not alone.
    Be proud of your ability to write about emotion.
    And thank you so much for sharing it with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jane for honouring me even in my pain. Originally all my poetry was like this and it took me years to learn how to write more “normal” or positive poetry. I am grateful that I can now write both and that I have poetry as an outlet. I feel sorry for those who don’t have something like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Depression (dealing with loss part 3) | Looking4GodToday

  3. I had thought of a poetry piece for today but have written on the subject through poetry several times so ventured into the more traditional form. I am glad to see someone go this route. Well done.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

    Like

    • Thanks Ronovan. The biggest challenge I’m face in my writing currently is being “real” and not covering up all the most interesting bits just because they may not paint me in the best light 😉

      Like

      • Ah, I read your About page. People have a difficult time separating the writer from the writing. C.S. Lewis wrote about all sorts of things of fantasy and the like, but no one ever said anything about him that I know of, but they probably did. Be stark raving as you like. 🙂 We won’t tell.

        Like

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

