Home

Who knew

When the doctor said, ‘It’s all over.

I have done all I can’

That it would come to this

That I would be walking here

Hand in hand

Waiting for the next chapter to begin

This is it

There’s the old lady

Knitting as agreed

While I’m blubbering like a baby

Can’t let her see me like this

Not today

Never known him hold my hand so tight

Not even through all those tests

Or when the doctor muttered

Those fateful words

He held it together

But today he is more nervous than me

We’ve waited so long

I didn’t think this day would ever come

Yet here it is

He’s crying

Not long to go now

Meeting her for the first time

Such a special moment

 

The sky is so blue today

The air so crisp

Children’s laughter and birdsong

Blend perfectly as if in angel chorus

Such a beautiful day

When Grace get her chance

Of a home, a normal life

With parents, music and dance

No care home for her now

She’ll get to run and play

With a teddy’s sweater

To remember the day

When her new family welcomed her home

Photo of children at play park with bright blue sky and trees in the background

Writing 101 Challenge: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.  Today’s twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

There are thousands of children looking for a family, a home.  I wanted to take this opportunity to highlight fostering and adoption.

 © Michelle Sherlock © Looking4Godtoday.wordpress.com 2014 All rights reserved

9 thoughts on “Hidden voice (Poem in 3 views)

    • Thanks Karuna. Last year churches up and down the UK ran an Adoption Sunday campaign and it’s a topic dear to my heart. I know people with fertility issues, I know people who have adopted and others that foster. For me at the heart of it all is the child who just wants to be loved.

      Like

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

