Home
Do you see the tree or me?  Photo of a little girl in a pink dress wearing ankle boots underneath an archway formed by a broken branch next to a gigantic tree

What do you see?  Poem and photo by Michelle Sherlock

When you look at me

What do you see?

Is it me or a tree?

Is it the me you want me to be

Or the me I’m going to be?

Is it the me that is

Or the me that always will be

Or is it you through me?

When you look at the tree

What do you see?

Is it the tree or me?

If it’s the tree

Do you see the beauty

Or just the pain?

Do you look past the scars

To how it frames the view?

Do you see the fullness of life

Or just its’ brokenness?

Do you see its’ past

Or glimpse the future?

What do you see?

 

Michelle Sherlock 14/6/14

Photo taken at Dunham Massey, Cheshire, UK

 © Michelle Sherlock © Looking4Godtoday.wordpress.com 2014 All rights reserved

 

2 thoughts on “What do you see? (poem)

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

