Home

Imagine if you came across a real Soul Food Cafe that recognised where you had come from, where you are now and where you are going to.  Imagine if it also came complete with a ‘Promises Found’ box where you could go and reclaim all your hopes and dreams that seem to have been forgotten or trampled into the dust.

Photo yellow soul food cafe set against blue sky.  Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest…. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light”

I would want the Soul Food Cafe to meet my deepest longings and heart cries.  To give me Soul Food that could offer me balm and solace when I am sad and a time of joyous celebration when I am happy and cater for everything in-between.  Unlike comfort eating it would be calorie free and give me life and health!  In Psalm 56 it says, “You satisfy me more than the richest feast. I will praise you with songs of joy.”  Have you ever experienced that?  At times I have and if anything I now hunger for more.

Importantly it would also need to offer a recognition of the suffering I have been through.  Sometimes I have felt like I have “been through hell and high water” just to get where I am today and that’s before I ever get close to my final destination or the pinnacle of my hoped for ambitions.  If I went to a refuge for my soul, I would hope to find all the tears I had cried saved in a bottle, both the tears of joy and the tears of sadness:

Tears are prayers too they travel to God when we can't speak  Photo of sun shining over mountains into green valley and rivelet of water running down

“You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.” Psalm 56:8

One of the Bible verses I’ve clung to in life is where God says “To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes,  a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oak that the Lord has planted for his own glory,”  (Isaiah 61:3).  God has no intention of leaving us ‘stuck’, He rescues us from all our trials and difficulties.

beauty for ashes photo of a the back if brides wedding dress and a quote from Isaiah 61 God gives me beauty for ashes, a party dress instead of funeral clothes

God loves me, clothes me, protects me and cheers me up

I would dress up in my beautiful God-given clothes and have a ball (pun intended).  From the ‘Promises Found’ box  I would reclaim my dream of being a famous writer and speaker, a coach, a trainer, a fantastic mum and wife.  I would reclaim my beauty, self-esteem, confidence, faith and power.  I would wholeheartedly seek after God and His kingdom because He promises that He will give me everything else that I need (Matt 6:33).  God is a good Father that loves to bless His children (Matt 7:11), so I would take time to bask in His presence, to be loved and cuddled, swung round, bounced and danced with.  I would take my place as a child of the King and the princess of His heart.

How about you? Imagine if you came across a ‘Soul Food Cafe’ or a  ‘Promises Found’ box, what would you find inside?

 © Michelle Sherlock © Looking4Godtoday.wordpress.com 2014 All rights reserved

 

 

 

 

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

