Home
Dwelling with God poem by Michelle Sherlock  Photo of angel rays through clouds onto water and land below

Not broken anymore

Last night, God reminded me that my identity is in Him and that He has made me complete.  He told me that I am not broken anymore and that my true identity is found in him.  I therefore need to let go of all false identity of brokenness and instead claim my inheritance through Jesus and stand complete in Him.  The words of Aaron Keyes song, Not Guilty Anymore, started playing in my head although it took a few attempts before I traced it with help from the internet.

“You’re not guilty anymore. You’re not filthy anymore. I love you, mercy is yours. You’re not broken anymore, you’re not captive anymore. I love you, mercy is yours.”

 

I was also drawn to these verses:

“We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.”  2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (NLT) 

Sometimes the bad things that have happened to us in life can latch on to our sense of self and like parasites grow with us and suck the lifeblood out of us.  Yes people may have wronged and abused us; yes we may have been through times of deep sorrow or grief; yes we may have messed up really badly ourselves and wonder if we can ever get free; we may feel broken, guilty, ashamed, oppressed.   We can almost become proud that our story is worse than someone else’s, our suffering is somehow greater and we can start to base our identity in being a victim rather than a surviver and thriver.

God wants to remind you and me that Jesus came to bring us into a place of freedom, forgiveness, wholeness, healing, cleansing, deliverance.  He came to bring mercy not judgment.  He came to give us a fresh start and a new name.  We have a choice to believe what God says about us and that God is giving us a hope and a future and has plans to prosper us and not harm us, or we can choose to live a lie and let our past dictate our future.  What will you choose?  I choose standing complete in Christ.

 © Michelle Sherlock © Looking4Godtoday.wordpress.com 2014 All rights reserved

 

3 thoughts on “Not broken anymore

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

