Home
Photo of red flag on a golf course as the sun sets

God sets the solitary in families: he brings out those which are bound with chains: but the rebellious dwell in a dry land. Psalm 68:6 (AKJV)

Woke up singing this song, “Back where I belong” by Matt Hooper from New Life Church, Bradford.

God of ages, be my anchor, be my light and be my shield
Be my strength and my confession, be my song and be my victory

In my battles I’ll remember, you will keep me in perfect peace
You are faithful my defender, you are good, and you will always be

You have set me free, changed this heart into your home
Ever I’ll be with you, I’m back where I belong
I will live to see, love invading, grace unbroken
Ever I’ll be with you, I’m back where I belong

Let my life burn with compassion, like a fire that never dies
Build your church and build your kingdom here, for this cause I’m giving up my life

Broken hearted lift your heads up, come to Jesus, come back home

He is greater than the fear you face, you are loved, come home where you belong

Ever I’ll be with you, I’m back where I belong

© Integrity Music 2013

God gives us hope, gives us belonging, restores us, sets us in a community – if we let Him.  This is my anthem for today.  Guitar chords and lyrics are found here.  The first video is more atmospheric with the lyrics while the second has a nicer sound quality by no movement or  lyrics.

Photo taken on a family bike ride past a golf course just as the sun was starting to set.

Have a good day!

© Michelle Sherlock 2014

7 thoughts on “I’m back where I belong

  1. This was so beautiful, it brought tears to my eyes! Through Christ, God is in the process of healing the world now… Only by sharing as you have, can we all learn to be more compassionate to one another! This has blessed my day, as it has others. And I’m certain God has blessed you for doing this :O)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Michelle! Thank you for liking my poem today and making the connection. I really like this post, and appreciate the comfort of God offering us community and belonging. I am really needing that right now, so this was a gift! Look forward to reading more of your posts.–Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

