Home
Small Lighthouse from a distance

“Your playing small does not serve the world” Marianne Williamson

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, Who am I

to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about

shrinking

so

that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine, as children do.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,

we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,

our presence automatically liberates others.”

—-from A Return to Love, by Marianne Williamson.

Flamborough Lighthouse at night shining in at least 4 directions at one

“Let our light shine” Marianne Williamson

Confession: I have played with the formatting and introduced enjambment above.

My response to her writing:

Thrive not just survive

I want to say thank you for teaching me

That it is okay to be me

For there’s no point in trying to be someone else

When I should just learn to be myself

So thank you Marianne

For teaching me I can

For encouraging me to take centre stage

Whatever my age

So when I take that final call

I will know I gave life my all

Lighthouse from a distance (Flamborough, UK)

Flamborough Lighthouse, UK, Photos taken by Michelle Sherlock October 2014

 © Michelle Sherlock 21/2/15

Writing in response to Writing 201 Poetry Challenge: Quote someone who inspires you

15 thoughts on “Writing that can change your life

  1. Hi Cheryl – I am sure you will find a way through. . I believe that every challenge or situation no matter how painful has the seeds in it of our greatest triumph depending on our response. Not always easy to put into practice but if you can the results are worth it

    Like

  2. Dust thou art! And unto art thou dust shall return! LOL! I’ve always been attracted to lighthouses. Composed of two words we so deeply cherish, I’m reminded of wisdom and security: and how it just might be useless for one to be able to stand without the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I was reading, my soul was sponging up those words as if they were meant for me. I have been asked to do something that has the ability to change many people’s lives for the better. My mind keeps saying, “Who are you to do this?” I loved your response to Marianne Willianson’s words. I do believe this could be a life changing moment for me also. Thank you for this lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you I love the first photo I used, I like the idea of the other two but the perfectionist in me points out their imperfections. It was very hard though to get a photo of a working lighthouse which is probably why I can’t find many free ones on the net either

      Like

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

