Home

Tulips of red and yellow and purpleTulips make my heart sing for joy

I love their vibrant honesty and transparency

I love how they droop down when dehydrated and then quickly rise up when watered

open red tulipI love their delicate innards and contrasting stamens and heart

I  love how they can open wide and then close right back up

I love the feel of their silky soft petals against my skin and the caress of their bright and delicate hues across my eyes

I love both striped and plain and their smooth, fluted and ragged edges

Such tulips speak to me of sunshine and spring and their beauty makes my soul sing

*~*

Poetry techniques: Playing with enumeratio, assonance and alliteration

My husband and children got the hint and bought me four vases full of purple, pink, red and yellow tulips for Mother’s Day.  I feel blessed!   I used to even have tulip curtains but they are currently packed away.  I also have a stained glass lamp featuring tulips across four concertina panels mounted on marble.

© Michelle Sherlock 16/3/15

 

3 thoughts on “Tulips make my soul sing

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

