Home

This swan reminded me of the story of the Ugly Duckling, which is often used to illustrate how you can turn from being considered ugly to beautiful in a short period given time and the opportunity to find out where you belong.  A baby swan, cygnet, is accidentally placed in a nest of ducks and is then made very unwelcome, all is well in the end when it grows into its’ body and gets beautiful white feathers and finds its’ real family.

This song helped me get through sticky parts of my childhood, although there were no quick fixes for me, I have made it to adulthood with a reasonable self-image:

My first question to you is this:

“Are you carrying baggage from the past that suggested that you were that ugly duckling, when in fact you are really a swan?”

If you are one of those people that are still convinced that you are ugly, take a break and watch this clip of the Ugly Bug Ball:

My second question is:

“Have you taken time as an adult to audit your revised strengths and weaknesses and update some of your views of yourself that you created in childhood?”

I know I have grown a lot and when I have done this exercise have been pleasantly surprised.  If you are struggling with self-belief, perhaps the quote below will help you think differently:

Photo of tree and lake

Everyone is a genius. If you judge a fish on its’ ability to climb, it will live its’ whole life believing it is stupid.” Amos E Dolbear

If you want to find out more about the origins of the last quote – check it out here:  http://quoteinvestigator.com/2013/04/06/fish-climb/

My third question is:

“Whose opinion are you looking for to decide if you are good enough and how long will you carry on doubting yourself?”

God looked at creation and declared it good.  He did the same when He created you and me.

My last question is:

“Isn’t it time you started believing in yourself if you don’t already?”

In Psalm 139. talking about God, David writes:

“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!  Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.  You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.  You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book.  Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered!  I can’t even count them;  they outnumber the grains of sand!  And when I wake up, you are still with me!” (NLT)

© Michelle Sherlock 19/4/15 Photos my own.

Feedback welcome - if you enjoyed the post please feel free to leave a comment

